# MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF CALNE WITHOUT PARISH COUNCIL HELD AT LANSDOWNE HALL, DERRY HILL MONDAY 22<sup>nd</sup> June 7.30pm

## CALNE WITHOUT COUNCILLOR ATTENDANCE

Present (P): Apologies (A): Did Not Attend (X)

Ioan Rees (Chair)	Α	Keith Robbins	Р	John Barnes	Р
Lucy Campbell Rogers	Р	Pauline Crane	Р	Sue Deedigan	Р
Charlotte Fossa	Χ	Rob Hislop	Χ	Jurgen Kronig	Α
Bruce MacInnes	Α	Doug Price	Р	Philippa Todd	Р

Wiltshire Council Unitary Councillor (Calne South) Sam Pearce-Kearney did not attend. Wiltshire Council Unitary Councillor (Calne Rural) Ashley O'Neill was in attendance.

## 1 Apologies

To receive apologies.

Apologies were received and unanimously accepted from Cllrs Rees, MacInnes and Kronig

# 2 Public participation/ Correspondence

## 2.1 Public participation

Opportunity for members of the public to address the Committee.

There were no members of the public in attendance.

#### 2.2 Correspondence

For the Clerk to report any correspondence not circulated.

No correspondence received

# 3 Declarations of Interest

Declarations from Councillors of any disclosable pecuniary interest (Standing Orders 13b) or other interest (Standing Orders 13c) in respect of matters being considered by the Council.

No declarations made

## 4 Community Governance Review 2022

To consider the Community Governance Review <u>additional draft recommendations</u> in turn and decide the councils response.

Recommendation that the Parish Council consider and discuss additional draft recommendations and decide the official response to be provided to Wiltshire Council.

## **Recommendation 3**

3.1	That the areas marked as D1 and D2 be transferred from Calne Without and Calne Town respectively to Bremhill as part of the Bremhill Ward of Bremhill Parish Council. Bremhill Ward to continue to have five councillors.
3.2	That the area marked as E be transferred from Langley Burrell Without to Bremhill as part of the East Tytherton Ward of Bremhill Parish Council. East Tytherton Ward to continue to have three councillors.
3.3	That the area marked as F be transferred from Christian Malford to Bremhill as part of the Foxham Ward of Bremhill Parish Council. Foxham Ward to continue to have three councillors.
3.4	That the area marked as G be transferred from Bremhill to Langley Burrell Without. Langley Burrell Without to continue to have five councillors.
3.5	To request that the LGBCE amend the Kington, Calne North and Calne Rural Electoral Divisions to be coterminous with the proposed revised parish boundaries of Calne Without, Christian Malford, Bremhill, Langley Burrell Without and Calne Town.

4.1 The councillors discussed the amendments at length. There was an agreement that no further comment was required on the properties on Chilvester Hill.

It was resolved to respond to Wiltshire council in respect of recommendation 3. expressing that Stanley abbey farm proposed boundary does not follow the natural boundary of the canal and the railway line and the area should remain in derry Hill and Studley.

There was no comment required for proposals 3.2, 3.3 and 3.4.

The council supported recommendation 3.5

# **Recommendation 5**

5.1	That the area marked as J be transferred from Calne Without to Cherhill.
5.2	That the area marked as J form two wards: Lower Compton Ward, and Blackland and Calstone Ward.
5.3	That Cherhill Parish Council comprise twelve councillors across four wards as set out in the map below: 1) Cherhill 2) Yatesbury 3) Lower Compton 4) Blackland and Calstone

5.4	Cherhill Ward would continue to contain five councillors.
5.6	Lower Compton Ward to contain three councillors.
5.7	Blackland and Calstone Ward to contain two councillors.

4.2 It was unanimously resolved to welcome the acceptance of our proposal to move Blackland in its entirety into Cherhill parish council but note that the proposed boundary should be as the warding map in the document not the map j which appears to be in error.

All other points in recommendation 5 have are supported by Calne Without Parish Council.

# **Recommendation 6**

6.1	That the area marked as K be transferred from Calne Without to Heddington.
6.2	That the area marked as K comprise the 'Stockley Ward' of Heddington Parish Council.
6.3	The Stockley ward to have two parish councillors.
6.4	The remaining part of the parish would be called 'Heddington Ward'.
6.5	Heddington Ward would comprise seven parish councillors.
6.6	That the parish of Heddington therefore be increased to a total of nine councillors.
6.7	To request that the LGBCE amend the Calne South and Calne Rural Divisions to be coterminous with the proposed revised boundaries of the Heddington, Cherhill and Derry Hill & Studley Parishes.

4.3 It was noted that the council supported the amended points in recommendation 6.

# **Recommendation 7**

7.1	That subject to Recommendations 2 and 4 as set out in the initial Draft
	Recommendations, and the amended Recommendations 3, 5, and 6 in this
	document, that the area shown in the map below, being the remaining part of Calne
	Without parish, be renamed from Calne Without to Derry Hill & Studley.
7.2	That the area marked as L be transferred from the parish of Bromham to the
	renamed parish of Derry Hill & Studley.

7.3	That the renamed parish of Derry Hill & Studley contain Eleven councillors across three wards: 1) Pewsham 2) Derry Hill & Studley 3) Bowood and Sandy Lane, as set out in the map below.
7.4	Pewsham Ward would contain one councillor.
7.5	Derry Hill & Studley Ward would contain nine councillors.
7.6	Bowood and Sandy Lane Ward would contain one councillor.
7.7	To request that the LGBCE amend the Calne South, Bromham, Rowde and Roundway, and Calne Rural Divisions to be coterminous with the proposed revised boundaries of the renamed parish of Derry Hill & Studley.

4.4 It was noted that the council supported recommendation 7.1, 7.2, 7.4, 7.5 and 7.7 but wished to commend on 7.3.

It was proposed and unanimously resolved to recommend that the properties to the south Church Road should be within the Derry Hill and Studley Ward, with the exception of the Golden Gatehouse.

It was proposed and unanimously resolved to recommend that all the properties on Devizes Road remain in Pewsham Ward due to the shared nature of the Road they share and the subsequent traffic concerns.

The meeting closed at 20.37